Where The Spiritual & Affable Collide

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Inevitable Dealings Of A Christian Actor

Posted by tmoney80 on September 24, 2008

I will be in the Modjeska Playhouses production of “The Odd Couple” on October 11, 12, 15, 18 & 19th at Trabuco Hills High School in Mission Viejo, CA.  Come if you can, curtain is at 7:30pm.  Go to www.modjeskaplayhouse.org for more info. 

Anyway, the play was written by Neil Simon and it is quite hysterical.  If you want to laugh, this play won’t disappoint you. But even though the script is generally free of obscenities and foul language as a whole there are a few lines each of the characters have where they would say something like “for Crise sakes” or “for God’s sakes”. Now, I am not sure, but I want to believe that Neil Simon didn’t write those lines out of a disrespect for God but rather out of what was the common emotional & verbal response of the time, 1960’s New York (unfortunately it’s only gotten worse over the years). You see those specific lines only appear out of reaction to a ridiculous circumstance or out of a character’s attempt to get the other character to see things his way.  Side note: I do not justify the reason or think that they should be in the script.  But that’s why and where they appear in the script.

Which leads me to the point of this post.  As a Christian actor, you always need to look at performance material through the eyes of the Christian Worldview.  I tend to ask myself…does the message of this script point to the human condition and conclude in a way where we are left with hope. If so, I’m down. If not, probably not interested. Now some shows are written for strictly entertainment value and while I don’t necessarily believe they are the best use of the arts (more on that later), they have value in providing rest and leisure, which is good.

As an artist, the point is not to be perfect in discernment, but to have a Biblical standard of discernment. We all have done things which we look back and say…”yeah, that wasn’t the best decision I’ve made”. But I’m telling you, some people (“Christians”) have no idea what when to say “no, it goes against my beliefs.” And that’s a problem.

Also, as a Christian actor there are times when you say to the director I believe in the show and I think it’s fun but I will not be able to do or say this, this and this.  And that is what I have done with those lines in The Odd Couple where I would be taking the Lord’s Name in vein. I haven’t heard back from the director yet so hopefully, I am not fired. I guess I’ll find out tonight at rehearsal. Actually, I’m sure it will be fine, since I have done it in the past and it’s been totally understood. It’s amazing how God works these things out.  

Come see the show!

2 Responses to “The Inevitable Dealings Of A Christian Actor”

  1. rejoice1946 said

    Good job!

  2. Hammer said

    When people know where you stand, you gain respect from them (whether you want it or not). Even if you don’t, your goal is not to impress people, but to lead by example. Like dad always told Chris, “let your ‘yes’ be ‘yes’ and your ‘no’ be ‘no'”. However, I know it never got thru to him….

Leave a Reply

 
